By air:

It's very easy to get to Budapest by plane - several low-cost airlines and also the national airline have great offers and services.

Budapest International Airport is sixteen kilometers south-east of downtown Budapest. From the Ferihegy Terminal 2A is within the Schengen borders, Terminal B to countries outside the Schengen Convention depart airplanes.

Getting into town:

  • All major car rental companies have offices in the arrivals hall of Budapest Ferihegy Airport.
  • The Airport minibus is a popular and reasonably priced means of transport between the airport and the city.
  • The public airport bus, BKV bus number 100E goes directly to the city center
  • A taxi to the center of Budapest will cost anything between 3.500 Ft and 8.000 Ft.
  • Trains also commute between the airport and Nyugati Railway Station, 51 times daily on weekdays and 38 times a day on weekends and holidays. The train ticket price is about HUF 370-615 per person.

Airport central number:

Flight information:

Luggage search service:
Ferihegy 2A: (+36-1)296-8108, (+36-1)296-7217
Ferihegy 2B: (+36-1)296-7948, (+36-1)296-5965, (+36-1)296-5966

Click here for more travel information.


When at the Airport

Airport-city centre shuttle bus service

The ticket for line 100E is now available through a mobile application.
The special-price ticket (900 HUF) for the direct shuttle between Liszt Ferenc International Airport and Deák Ferenc tér in the city centre is purchasable through a mobile app downloaded onto any smart phone. Visit for details.


Airport Ride Sharing

Want to share a ride form the airport to the city center _ use the ap


Visa information

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 19 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of December 19th  2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 27 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. (For the time being 5 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay longer than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.

Important Note: The following information contains countries and passport types of which one does not need a visa. For example, attendee’s coming from China are on the list but only if you are traveling with a diplomatic passport. Any other will require a visa. Please review the information carefully.  For information about countries who do not require visa please visit For information on how to contact the Consulate for additional questions regarding your visa,  please visit

For general questions you may also contact Zoltán Somogyvári, Wigner Inst., Hungary (General Co-Chair) at [email protected] or the IJCNN 2019 Executive office at [email protected].